Day 1 recipe


Oh beautiful food makes me happy!

Hi Ladies and Gents,

Well, you should be through lunch now and hopefully you are feeling okey dokey.  I have a nasty headache but that is normal.  I am sure that I have mentioned it but you might feel like poop for about 4 days, it is normal so just hang in there. DRINK WATER!!!!!  Don’t forget!

Ok, so my goal for the cleanse is to blog daily and provide at least one new recipe a day (this is a goal, not a promise so wish me luck).  So here it is.  This one is from Kimberly Snyder’s Beauty Detox. This one is great for people who don’t have a lot of time to cook. If you are cooking for kids and they are picky, you may not get a great response from the family on this one but give it a try.  I also added this to pepperclip today if you want to add it to a shopping list.

Veggie-Turmeric Quinoa

1.5 c water – filtered…but you already knew that right?

3/4 c dry quinoa

1-2 tbsp coconut oil

1 med onion, diced

1.5 tsp sea salt ( I like himalayen…our salt should be gray or pink…white is bad….white is almost always bad when it comes to food)

1 tbsp curry powder

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 red pepper, diced

2 c. chopped broccoli or cauliflower

Soak quinoa over night and then rinse (I cheat on this sometimes but try to remember to soak)
Bring quinoa to boil then reduce heat and simmer for about 15 minutes until all water is absorbed.  Then remove from heat and let sit for at least 5 minutes.

Heat coconut oil in large fry pan or wok.  Add onions, and saute for a few minutes, add salt, curry and turmeric.  Add veggies and saute for 5-6 minutes until they are softened but not soggy. Add quinoa to the veggies stirfry and mix. . Serve it up!

6 thoughts on “Day 1 recipe

  1. Looks like a yummy recipe – thanks Megan! Glad to know I’m not the only one with a headache. I haven’t had any caffeine since Friday, so I thought perhaps it was the result of my almost 5 week cold. Besides the slight pounding in my head, I feel GREAT!

  2. Megan we ate the vegan enchiladas soooo good even my husband could not tell there were sweet potatoes which he hated. I tried the carrots and salsa and you are they are surprisingly good. I had a hard time craving my decaf coffee that was the worst part about today not too bad since you have already got me up and running on smoothies. I did eyeball the 1/4 cup of wine left in the wine bottle but I proudly left it sitting:)

    • Yes, the enchiladas are a hit! I have had a such a bad headache all day that I am not craving anything but sleep…guess I need this cleanse more than I thought. Keep up the good work, a few more days and it will feel like a piece of cake …. hopefully ! 🙂

  3. Recipe looks really good! I did the brocolli pesto quinoa last night and it worked out well. Slight headache today but other than that doing well. Eating a big green salad as I write this.

    Now here is a question. Any advice for what to do during social engagements? Example: I am going to a wedding on Saturday. Bring juice with? What do you think?

    • Hi Linds,
      OK for everyone out there…social engagements are the true test of strength. Here are my tricks. I eat before hand, drink a lot of water, give myself a pep talk and always look for the raw veggie tray…there always seems to be one. Now, if you are going to a wedding or sit down thing and you are stuck, you just try to eat around the worst stuff…like breads, creamy mashed potatoes, etc. However, just do your best, one meal won’t kill you but if you are super social and you find yourself making this excuse every day, you need to take a look at your calendar and ease back. Really, this cleanse is only 3 weeks but it should teach you some methods to eat and live well always!
      XOXOXO

  4. Another question for ya: I’m finally making my way through “Crazy Sexy Diet” and am realizing that a juice and smoothie are 2 different things requiring different tools to make them as well. I just bought the Vitamix should I be buying a pure juicer too??

What do you think?

