Day 2 – Food, meditation and more food


Good morning everyone!

8:15am – Drank hot water with lemon, meditated, thawing juice…kids and husband off to school and work, going to yoga with Bobby (husband) later, and I have 6 days left of break….ahhhhh

So, while I was meditating today, well trying to meditate but thinking about why meditation is important and what I was going to write on the blog (yeah, I told you I am not good at meditation), anyway, I had a realization.  I love meditation because once it becomes a habit and you really sink into it, even for 10 minutes a day, it becomes the training ground for how to handle the rest of your day.  Meditation is the act of being present and accepting things exactly as they are with an open heart.  When you meditate, you are not asking for things to change and you are not wishing that circumstances were different and you are not in the act of frantically trying to change them yourself.  So whether you call it meditation, prayer or quiet time, think about that before you sit down next time. Remember that you are not sitting cross-legged or with hands pressed together at your chest to change what IS, you are there to accept it, love it and move on.

Now, I really like this concept in connection with food and it is the premise of the book Women, Food and God by Geneen Roth, good book especially if you are an emotional eater.  Last night when I was walking out of the kitchen after cleaning up delicious veggie stir-fry, I had a familiar feeling but at first I could not place it because it was being masked by a pounding headache.  But then, I realized it was the intruder that takes over my brain every night after dinner, my sugar craving.  So, for a half of a second I acknowledged it, did not attempt to change it, i.e. feed the craving, and then I moved on.  No harm, no foul, no sugar.  If this is sounding familiar then remember that you can empower yourself to just be where you are and not try and change it.  Every time you feed a craving, you are trying to change what is, instead of accept it.  For me, I always eat when I have nothing to do because I am used to being on super speed and if you turn me down a notch I get very anxious and need to feed my face.  Downtime is a killer for the anxiety-ridden. The other thing that triggers cravings for me is being tired which is a great reason to sleep but not to eat.  So, figure out your triggers and then love and accept them, don’t feed them.

OK, part two, recipes and food stuff.   There are some blogs that I love and that inspire me so I am going to share them with you and some of their wisdom.  I have mentioned www.peasandthankyou.com before.  And while I do not completely agree with this very cool mom’s food philosophy, I always love her ideas and tricks.  She recently had a post about empowering her kids by letting them choose what they eat.  So together, they made up lists of healthy breakfast, snack and lunch foods and pinned them to the fridge.  She makes sure to always have the food on hand so the kids can choose.  So, I promptly did the same with my kiddos and they love it because they can pick out what I pack for lunch and what they scarf down before school in the morning…of course Parker asked me where the dessert category was, ugh. But then I realized that half of the time I am staring into the fridge thinking what the heck and I going to eat, especially during a cleanse. Sometimes it is the not knowing what to eat that makes it so easy to grab junk. So, do yourself a favor and make yourself a list.  Make sure that your list includes easy food that you can prepare quickly or that you already have pre-prepared.  It means you only have to use your brain once instead of 3-5 times a day.  You’re probably staring to see the theme here….planning makes perfect (you know what I mean).

OK, last thing but on the same note.  I had an email from a friend that is cleansing asking if certain pre-made items at Trader Joes were OK for the cleanse.  Here is my answer:  This has to be doable for you so if you are mega-busy, have kids, work, or go to school (I think I’ve covered all of us now), then give yourself a break.  If you need to grab some pre-made organic salsa or pasta sauce, do it.  Just read the ingredients and if you can pronounce all of them and there are no added things like preservative or high fructose corn syrup (or sugar for that matter) then you are fine.   Watch out for gluten, it is in so many things…soy sauce for example. Also, watch out for milk which is in a lot of pre-made foods as well.  Lastly, for those of you that would like to have bread products on this cleanse, Udi’s is now my absolute favorite.  They have bread (which is really good toasted), buns, pizza crust, bagels, etc.  You can find them at New Seasons, Whole food and online.  It is the closest thing to wheat bread that I have found. But, it is spendy so treat it as a treat!

Last thing, I did not realize that Kris Carr, author of Crazy Sexy Diet, is also leading a 21 day cleanse which started on Jan. 2.  But you all know I love her and if you go to this site and sign up she will send you good info and recipes that will help you along your way.  Thank you Lori for passing this along!

http://support.pcrm.org/site/PageServer?pagename=21day_vegan_kickstart&JServSessionIda003=upegog3qg1.app234c#.TwJ1-ZVbfDg.mailto

Now about that sweet tooth…..

Super Easy Sweet Treat

Raw Energy Balls (gotta love the name, I did not make it up)

From Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook (which I highly recommend)

*If you are trying to lose weight on this cleanse, go easy on the balls.  These are awesome for a quick mid-day snack (1 ball, not 12) and for kids!

1 c.  raw almonds or walnuts – soaked for a few hours

1 c medjool dates, pitted

¼ c raisins

¼ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp ground cardamom

¼ c raw almond butter

Shredded coconut

In a food processor fitted with the S-blade, grind the almonds finely.  Add dates, raisins, and spices.  Grind to fine meal.  Add Almond butter and process until thoroughly mixed.  Form into balls and roll in coconut. Store in sealed container on the counter for up to 3 days or in the fridge for a week.

Another good treat are the Raw Granola bars on the my pepperclip site!

Check out Raw granola bars on my pepperclip.com recipe site!

Enjoy a healthy day!!!!

3 thoughts on “Day 2 – Food, meditation and more food

  1. Megan,
    Those balls look awesome. I’ll be at your house in 5 minutes to eat all of them! 😉
    Day two is off to a good start. Headache is not as bad as yesterday.
    What do you think about organic, 100% juice? Is that too much sugar?

  2. OK, the thing about juice is that the longer that it sits without being ingested, the more enzymes die. Molecules break down to sugar and so it becomes a less desirable drink. It definitely does not take the place of your morning smoothie or juice and you could get an unnecessary sugar boost from it mid day. PS my headache is better too….and someone already beat you to the punch with the energy balls…I’m serious!

  3. So, for a half of a second I acknowledged it, did not attempt to change it, i.e. feed the craving, and then I moved on. No harm, no foul, no sugar.

    Love this! I acknowledge and plough ahead anyway! Really like Roth’s book

What do you think?

