Day 5 – So you want to eat meat….


9:05pm Water with lemon, green smoothie, meditated and did yoga…gotta love Saturdays!

Although we are not eating meat on the cleanse, here is some info on eating meat that you can use after we are finished up.  In my earlier post that mentioned meat and CSA’s I had a lot of response from people that wanted info on choosing healthier meats so here it is!

I have spent my whole life wavering between vegan, vegetarian and carnivore.  So when I began to explore nutrition five years ago I became interested in what experts said about my options.   So first, let me give you some info about animal products based on my research. Last year I spent over three months doing an in-depth study of the findings of Dr. Weston Price, a dentist from the 1930’s.  Followers of Price believe in eating a completely unprocessed diet that is rich in animal products that come from pasture raised, grass fed animals.  They also believe in eating only raw dairy which means that it has not been pasteurized (flash heated at high temp to kill bacteria which also kills off nutrients and natural enzymes that allow our bellies to digest the dairy).  They believe this because Dr. Price found that the healthiest people in the world in the 1920s and 30s were those that had stuck to their native diet of whole traditional foods and had not moved over to the diet of the industrialized world which included a lot of sugar and processed food. Now if you follow Dr. John McDougal or the Forks over Knives guys they would contest that eating meat and dairy will cause disease and kill you and it is completely unnecessary. 

Here is my conclusion which I live by: if you eat an unprocessed diet that is rich with organic vegetables and fruit, mostly raw and if you avoid sugar, caffeine and alcohol for the most part, you are going to be very healthy.  However, to me, eating meat and animal products is a personal choice which may be emotional, political, moral or for health reasons.  But I think meat should be consumed in   moderation and responsibly. Responsibly choosing animal products involves knowing where they come from and how the animals are raised and handled.  It also means buying local.  If you choose to eat meat, there are tons of local farms that you can buy from, especially around Portland.  My personal favorite is Kookoolan farms in Yamhill.  I used to go out there and buy raw milk once a week and pick up some yogurt, kombucha and a pasture raised organic chicken.  They also sell their goods at the Hillsdale Farmer’s market.  There is another farm in John Day called Full of Life Farm that raises all of their animals free range.  Ya know, chickens are actually meant to roam around and forage for their food.  That is how they are most healthy as are grazing cows and goats.  A major impact on our environment from raising farm animals, mainly cows, comes from the horrendous amount of land we waste growing crops for livestock feed.  However, raising livestock this way is expensive and those costs are passed onto the consumer so joining a CSA can be a great way to get quality animal products and local produce for a reasonable price.  If you are interested in joining a CSA (Community Supported Farm) then you can visit www.localharvest.org which also lists farmer’s markets and more. Most CSA’s let you buy a portion of an animal and then they butcher it and package it for you to pick up. 

As for eating meat, these are the rules that I live by:

  1. When I eat meat it is no more than 3 times a week.  While eating meat may have some nutritional benefits if it is consumed to regularly it is taking the place of meals that could be rich in plant foods that are vital for health and longevity.
  2. Know where my meat comes from, visit the farm if I can, it is fun! I am not doing myself any favors buy eating a hamburger and pretending that it never had a face or a mom and dad.  It is important to be connected to my food.  I appreciate it more and respect it more when I acknowledge that something gave its life for my meal.
  3. Buy from Farmer’s market and get to know my farmers.  Know how they handle their animals.
  4. If I am in a bind and need to buy meat at the grocery store, go to New Seasons or Whole Foods and ask my butcher for pasture raised, grass fed meat.    
  5. Plan to spend more money on meat, eggs and dairy because it is worth it and that is how I tell your farmers and grocers what is important to you.
  6. As for animal products buy organic free range eggs and grass fed butter.  Avoid milk unless I can buy it from the farmer and it is raw.  If I buy raw milk I ask for their bacteria test numbers.  The standard for raw milk is a somatic cell count of 80,000 bacteria per ml but in Oregon they require less than $15,000 to be sold.  Kookoolan’s normal numbers are under 400 SCC per ml if that gives you any idea of how clean raw milk can be.  However, raw milk can only be sold by the farmer at the farm and cannot be advertised.  It is worth it, delicious!

OK, please accept my apologies but I don’t have a recipe for you today.  My day was filled with birthday parties, going away parties and lots of driving so I did not get a chance.   However, moving in a completely different direction from today’s blog, I will have many new RAW recipes for you tomorrow to prepare you for week two which is RAW WEEK.  Week two we will do our very best to eat a raw diet all week so I will try to give you some delicious options to keep your body nourished!

Happy Saturday!!!!

What do you think?

