Day 6 – so far so good


5pm Water with lemon, check.  Smoothie, check. Hang out with family and skip meditation and work-out, check. What can I say, no one is perfect.

So, after a long blog about meat yesterday we are getting ready to move onto raw week on Day 8.  Let me first say that if you are going strong on the cleanse and the thought of eating raw for a week sounds horrendous or unreasonable, don’t worry about it.  Stick with what you are doing now.  You can pick your cleanse plan, this is not a one-size-fits-all.

If you are looking to take the next step, here are some options.

1. Smoothies and juice  for breakfast and lunch and raw veggies and fruits for snacks.  Then a normal “cleanse-approved dinner”

2. Smoothies and juice for breakfast and lunch, raw veggie and fruit for snacks and raw food for dinner.

3. Die Hards – Smoothies and juice all day.  You can do this for 7 days but if you are planning that I need you to contact me so I can give you some ideas on how to do that successfully.  I will be doing liquid only on Thursday through Sunday, four days, which is enough for me.

So by now, we should all be through physical withdrawals and we should be onto the actual detox portion so make sure to workout, sweat, and drink lots of water.  If you are not pooping, we need to talk.  Also, supplements are necessary, especially B12 and D3 so if you are skipping that, you may not feel your best.  A reminder that magnesium is nice for muscle tension and sleep issues and digestive enzymes and probiotics will help your body absorb all of the awesome food that you are eating.

Preparing raw food can be as easy as a salad with some raw seed and nuts on it or you can get a little crazy with it.  If you feel like experimenting this week with some cool raw recipes, here are a few that I am going to try.  I will post pics when I make them. Eating raw means that you are getting even more nutrients and enzymes as well as antioxidants and phyto-chemicals which all help you heal and fight disease.  If you don’t want to move to a raw diet this week, try to eat a big salad before lunch and dinner, that is a great habit to begin now!

Lastly, before we move onto recipes, I am back in school as of Tuesday so although I intend to blog daily, I may miss a day or two.  If you don’t hear from me, I have not fallen off the cleanse-wagon, I am just buried under a stack of homework, children and housework and I will resurface soon! I am still with you in my thoughts, trust me!

All of these recipes are from Everyday Raw by Matthew Kenney

Mango Raspberry Smoothie ( a great sweet treat!)

1 1/2 c frozen Mango

1 c frozen raspberries

1 c Almond Milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 pinch sea salt

Serves 1

Sweet Green Juice ( For a juicer, not a blender)

1 cucumber

1 carrot

1 green apple

1/4 c parsley

1/4 c mint

1/2 celery stalk

1/4 inch ginger

1/2 lemon peeled

Serves 1

Macadamia Hummus

3 c macadamia nuts soaked 1-2 hours

1/4 c lemon juice

3 tbsp olive oil

1/2 c raw tahini

1 tsp salt

1 1/4 c water

1 small clove garlic

Blend all ingredients!

Chili

1 Portobello mushroom finely chopped

1/2 c minced celery

1/2 c chopped red onion (Carrie you can sub this with white)

1 red bell pepper finely chopped ( again, can be subbed with other color pepper)

1 c almonds, soaked 4-5 hrs

1 c chopped carrots

1 1/2 sundried tomatoes, soaked

2 c water, fresh or from soaked sundried tomatoes

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 c tamari or liquid aminos

1 clove garlic

2 tbsp fresh oregano

1 tbsp dried oregano

2 tsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp agave or maple syrup

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Place mushrooms, celery, onion and bell pepper in a large bowl. Pulse almonds and carrots in food processor until a chunky consistency is achieved, add to bold. Blend remaining ingredients in a blender until smooth. Add to bowl and mix all ingredients until well combines. Store in refrigerator and warm in dehydrator in the oven on 130 degrees for about an hour. (this is not considered booked because it is low enough temp to preserve nutrients and enzymes)!

More tomorrow!

One thought on “Day 6 – so far so good

  1. You are amazing. Feeling great and ready to hit the die hard on Tuesday. I will second that I am (obviously) not drinking and I am taking the magnesium at night after a hot bath… I feel like I am woozy. Great sleep. If you are doing the juicing days, going to bed early is one of my keys and taking the mag. helps.

What do you think?

