Day 12 – You can lead a horse to water….


6pm – addicted to ginger and lemon shot, had an amazing massage today, at the beach….not bad

I always forget that it takes me about six hours to get my family ready to go out-of-town for the weekend.  Between packing, cleaning and preparing the chickens, it feels like we should be going to Europe for two weeks by the time I get in the car. Well, add remembering the juicer, packing enough produce to feed a village and stopping at the store for more produce, and my six hours turned to eight.  Finally, we arrived at the beach and it was time to make dinner and unpack.  What I am trying to say is, I did not make time to blog yesterday but I did make time to make juice.

Anyway, sometimes I feel like I should have learned all of the social lessons of life by now, I am a grown-up for all intents and purposes, and I should know how to behave.  Unfortunately, sometimes my overwhelming passion for wellness and my overly opinionated mouth get me in trouble.  So, when given the opportunity to verbally attack a friend last night who is not exactly on board with his wife’s and my plea to eat whole foods, I took it.  I sunk my teeth in and did not let go.  While this friend is not on my wellness wavelength, he is a great guy and I let him have it until he retreated and I was left feeling like poop. So, why am I sharing this with all of my blog friends you may ask?  Because, maybe some of you are starting to feel pretty good.  Maybe you are looking around at family and friends and thinking that a green smoothie might be just what they need to get off that cholesterol medication or lose some extra weight.  Maybe you don’t know what I am talking about because you have learned to mind your own business, good for you.  Well, I have realized time and time again that no matter what your motivation, you cannot force someone to change.  Even if it is because you love them and want them to be happy and healthy.  Even if you are pretty they could save their life by chewing on a cucumber. Even if you have all of the science and data to back up the fact that salad is, in fact, healthier than nachos.  Well, you might have to keep it to yourself. Or you might have to wait for your family and friends to approach you because you look radiant and have energy from dawn til dusk. The truth is, you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink.

And another thing, you may be halfway through this cleanse and the newness has worn off just like the new pair of shoes you bought a few weeks ago and now you are staring at them wondering what you ever saw in them in the first place.  Well, in case you were stalling at the wine section at the grocery store today longing for a little sip or wondering if anyone would know if you ate the leftover pancakes off your kid’s plates, take a deep breath.  You are normal.  Just remember, relapse is a part of recovery, so they say.  If you fall off the wagon, we all still love you.  Come back as soon as you can, we will be here waiting, or maybe we will be climbing back on with you.  You are doing great and that is why you are feeling great!  Start making mental notes about what changes are sustainable long-term.  Remember, this is for no one but you!

Now onto some delicious snacks.

My friend was munching on Heirloom tomatoes with eggplant hummus today….look at this appetizing snack.

 

 

 

 

Here is my favorite raw snack.

2 nori wraps ( this is just seaweed like what you are used to in sushi)

1/2 avocado

1/2 cucumber

1 leaf romaine lettuce

1 leaf chard

1 tbsp pickled ginger

2 tbsp tamari

1 tsp wasabi

Slice all veggies lengthwise into strips.  Mash avocado and spread onto 1/2 of each nori wrap Lay inside seaweed like you are preparing a burrito.  If you like the taste of pickled ginger just throw it in. Roll up and dip in wasabi and tamari…as home veggie sushi.

4 thoughts on “Day 12 – You can lead a horse to water….

  1. Oh Megan I love that you caught me right when i was browsing the wine section but i was actually going to drink ive worked to hard. I feel like all im doing is shopping for veggies the hubby is drink the green smoothie (and of course his skin looks amazing after 1 month i mean i can really tell a difference and ive been drinking them for 6 months only and scant difference) oh anf kately just drank 2 huge glasses tonight and has some every morning….baby steps with makenna. Your blog is so true and i still have ao much work to do but your guidance has been transformational for me and Im very grateful. However I am counting down the days to my cup of decaf coffee.

    • Yes, so annoying that men react so much faster but hopefully that means that Sean is going to be sold on the importance of food! Men are always a hard sell!

  2. Here is what our mission statement should be for this cleanse “Eat real food (organic not synthetic), whole food (not processed), a variety of food (all the colors of the rainbow), in naturally packaged (not plastic) containers.”

What do you think?

