Day 14 – Back to warm food


Today completes raw week for those of you that decided to take it on.  You are two weeks into a more nourished body and I hope you are feeling well and exploring your health a little more .  If you are getting tired of the food prep, I feel your pain and hear your complaints.  Unfortunately, food prep comes with eating well, most of the time. I have included a few pictures of my kitchen from tonight in which I was juicing for the whole family for three days, making nut-free raw energy balls for my son’s no-nut classroom, and blending up some healthy mayo. Note that I always have my laptop next to my cook book.  I can not imagine cooking without being able to look up substitutions or better ingredients.  It is my favorite cooing companion.

However, we are all short on time some days so here is an easy 20 minute dinner for the family. It is a combo of some other meals that I have posted or put on pepperclip but it is a good one to keep in mind when you are low on time. You can sub out these veggies for broccoli, cauliflower, etc… you will just have to adjust cook time for whatever veggies you like.

Roasted veggies over quinoa with lemon garlic sauce

1 c quinoa

2 cup water

1 beet

1 sweet potato

1 carrot

1/4 c water

2 garlic cloves

1 juice of one lemon

1 tbsp italian spices

1 tsp salt

4 tbsp olive oil

Add quinoa and water to pot and bring to a boil then lower heat to simmer for 15-20 minutes covered.

In the meantime peel and dice veggies into 1/2 inch cubes.  Put veggies in a frying pan with 1/4 cup water and heat on medium heat covered for 10 minutes.  IN the meantime again….put remaining ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.  Check veggies for desired smooshiness.  When quinoa is finished fluff with a fork and salt and pepper to taste.  Salt and pepper veggies.  Put a scoop on veggies on a scoop of quinoa and drizzle sauce on top.  Easy!

Now, for more complex yet simple issues.  I love mayonnaise but the ingredients in store-bought mayo are substandard and riddled with common food allergens.  I stood in the aisle at the grocery store today for 5 minutes reading labels just trying to find one bottle that did not include corn syrup, soybean oil or canola oil.  Impossible.  So, I made my own and it is seriously simple. The recipe I followed said that I had to whisk this mix for 8 minutes, who has time for that?  So I stuck everything in my blender and it thickened no prob.  Note that this has raw egg in it so “no bueno” for babies or prego mommies.

1 large egg yolk*
1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
1/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt plus more to taste
3/4 cup olive oil

One thought on “Day 14 – Back to warm food

What do you think?

