Day 21 – Gratitude


Hi All,

It is day 21 and I just want to say you guys rock!  You did an amazing job! Some of us had hiccups, screw-ups and minor breakdowns but we made it and we feel better because of it.  Bad habits, pounds and cholesterol were all dropped in the process.  YAY!  In this post I will give you some hints about coming off of the cleanse so you do not get sick.  But first I need to say a big, huge, holy-crappin-moly Thank you to my secret santas that were responsible for the VITAMIX that I just found on my door step.  WOW!  I was so shocked that I called my husband in awe and he told me that my “cleanse friends” were responsible.  My dear old friends, family and new friends, I just want to say THANK YOU and that you shouldn’t have…but I am so so so excited that you di”.  Finn and I got home from dance class to find this magnificent gift. After a giddy call to Bobby I unwrapped, washed and set up my new kitchen toy and proceeded to make lunch with it. This machine is so cool that it actually made almond milk for me in about 3 seconds…amazing! We threw a banana, two dates, 1 tbsp cocoa, 1/2 almonds, 1 1/2 c water, 2 cups spinach in the Vitamix and VOILA!!! -a silky smooth smoothie!  I am so filled with gratitude to all of you that participated in this cleanse and filled my first month of 2012 with so much joy and now you top it off with such a generous and perfect gift!  THANK YOU does not cut it but its all I got.  This really has been so much fun for me!

THANK YOU!!!!

YUMMY!

Today is a day to celebrate because you have made yourself healthier than you were 21 days ago but BEWARE, going back to your old ways may be a lot more painful that they were originally.  Your body has adapted to a new way and you are cleaner inside and out.  Biochemically, your body is different and is not producing the same chemicals that is was before. It will not be prepared to handle a binge of sugar, caffeine, alcohol, meat and dairy.  So, here is the best way to ease back on.  Take a look at how you have been eating for the last week or so.  If you have been eating raw, you need to start back with small amounts of cooked food eaten with raw food such as a salad with cooked veggies or beans and rice. If you have been eating a mix of vegan cooked and raw and you want to add in dairy, meat, etc., then it must be done slowly.  So, make a list of the foods that you plan to inquire back into your diet and do so one at a time starting with the easiest and moving on. Do only one new item per day or preferably every 2 – 3 days.   Also, this is the time to make sure that you are consuming digestive enzymes with each meal so your body adapts to breaking down the new (old) items and you do not get sick or clogged up.  My advice is try to stay off of gluten, sugar, alcohol and caffeine if at all possible, there are no redeeming values in those foods.  Realistically, we are probably all going to consume most of those things occasionally but try to keep it occasional for your own health. Remember that the first time you have a glass of wine, sugar or caffeine, it will hit you A LOT harder. When you write down the foods that you are going to add back in write the days that you will put them back in your diet, what types they are and reminders to eat small amounts.  I remember hearing a story when I was fifteen at a concentration camp in Germany about some victims that had been rescued from the camp by American soldiers.  The soldiers were so shocked by their emaciated bodies that they gave the victims candy bars that caused such a system shock that they died.  This is obviously a dramatic story and you are not victims of a concentration camp but it is proof that our bodies adapt to their environment and we need to respect that and not overload our systems with respect to the load that we have become accustomed to.

Lastly, if you are going to eat meat and dairy, check out sources for raw dairy and grass-fed, pasture raised meats in your area.  Your body will thank you!

You deserve to celebrate and I received a great recipe today from one of your fellow-cleansers and one of my most committed family members so I am passing it along.

Decadent Raw Vegan Chocolate Mousse

2 large ripe avocados

1/2 cup organic unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup agave nectar, plus more to taste

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 tsp. almond extract

1/2 pint fresh organic raspberries, or whatever berry you have on hand

Method

1. Cut a ripe avocado in half. Use a big knife to grab the pit and turn to remove. Spoon out the meat of the avocado and then blend to break it down a bit.

2. Add in cocoa powder, agave nectar, vanilla extract, and almond extract and blend for 1 to 2 minutes, making sure every part is included.

3. Refrigerate overnight and serve in martini glasses with garnish.

From Kim's kitchen

 

FROM MY HEART TO YOURS, CHEERS TO YOU AND YOUR HEALTH!

2 thoughts on “Day 21 – Gratitude

  1. Thank you for putting the work into blogging, researching, and putting together recipes to help keep me motivated! I looked forward to your posts and I love seeing the kids enjoy their yummy treats!

    I’ve enjoyed trying new recipes. I’ve learned quite a bit about my body during this last few weeks. I know I have always been lactose intolerant, although I would still consume dairy in small quantities (I would suffer through it because I love cheese).

    I think this cleanse has proven to me that dairy does not belong in my diet at ALL. I haven’t had any stomach upset, bloating, etc. It has been hard but it is something I plan to not include post cleanse.

    Congrats on the vitamix, what an awesome gift!

    P.S. I am in love with Lara bars! Since I am limited to types of nuts I can have, the pb & j ones are my new fav! I am very excited to make them on my own.

    Thank you again!

What do you think?

