Cleansing Life Lessons


Each time I cleanse I take some new recipes and some lessons with me.  This time, I’m two days in and I was slapped in the face with a particular lesson that I just can’t seem to learn.  FLEXIBILITY! For those of you that know me well, you know that I am maybe a little controlling. I like nothing better than holding myself and my loved ones to hard and fast rules.  These rules include but are not limited to:

1. Green vegetables should be eaten with every meal including breakfast

2. Sweets are allowed on the weekends

3. Chore charts in general

4.Who ever cooks should not have to clean the kitchen

5. Everyone should do what I say even if I change my mind every day because I am the boss and I will deny or justify changing my mind every day.

So, these are just a sample of the rules that I make, break and then am angry with myself for making and breaking.  Just today I made a new rule that any toys left on my kids floor before they go to bed at night are to be donated to charity. I am positive that I will live to regret that one!

What does this have to do with cleansing you ask?

Cleansing is an opportunity to regain health, perspective, good habits, sanity, insanity, whatever.  But, traveling the road with a rigid mind and spirit can lead to missed experiences and less joy. No matter how wise we are, we cannot foresee every bump in the road.  Here is an example:

I made a smoothie that I don’t really like.  I can stick to it, get grossed out and annoyed and quit because I am not finding any joy in blended lettuce and beets.  Here is a great alternative.  Scrap the smoothie, make one that you like that is on the cleanse or a slight modification that works for you and stick with it.  I have a few people on the cleanse that are going to weddings or special events.  Oh well, do your best and hop back on board in the morning ( right after the bloody mary….OK, hopefully not).

Let’s not take the joy out of life by sticking to the plan just because we have told ourselves that if we don’t, we fail. Whether you are cleansing or eating a burger with a hearty micro-brew right now, take a deep breath, let go of expectations, give yourself a little pep talk and an internal hug and move on!

But, if you do want to trade the micro-brew in for a glass of fresh juice, here is my favorite!!!!

My variation of Blossoming Lotus’ Thai Greens ( This one is average as a smoothie and awesome as a juice)

1/4 Cup basil, fresh
1 Tsp ginger root (apx. 1/2 inch of root)
4 Cup lettuce, romaine
2 Cup Swiss chard
1/2 Cup cilantro (coriander), fresh
1 Regular apple, granny smith
1/2 Regular lime, fresh

Wash and Juice

2 thoughts on “Cleansing Life Lessons

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve said the same thing about toys and have executed it on many occasions. Shocking, I know :-).

What do you think?

