Muffins for lunch


The thing that keeps me up at night is always what I am going to send for lunch with my kids the next day (yeah, I know…big problems over here). But seriously, packing lunch is a pain in the butt and we all know that if the kids does not like it, they don’t eat it and we are not there to bribe them into 3 more bites, etc., etc.

So, this month, faced with the vegan cleanse and all, I was officially stumped last night.  What compounds my issue is that the kids go to a nut-free school…don’t get me started on how irritating that is.  Anyway, I was googling around and I found a recipe for muffins that have no refined sugar, no animal products and you can add in whatever extra healthy stuff that you want.  Bobby and I are going gluten-free but the kids are not so this recipe is perfecto!  It is so super easy and pretty darn good.  It beats a sandwich and the kiddos think they are getting a treat. In fact,  my kids think I have lost my mind.  This recipe calls for applesauce (which you can make easily but peeling, coring, and cubing apples and then putting them on the stove top for 15 minutes with 1/3 c water until soft…then mash of blend until smooth…super easy)  and flax seed meal (ground flax seed can be purchased that way or throw flax seeds in your blender until it is powder)  Those two items keep your muffins moist and together. I added  1 c shredded carrots and 1/4 c sunflower seeds into mine but you can throw in any of the following

2/3 c nuts

1 c berries

1/2 c seeds

1 mashed banana

1 c shredded zucchini

Get creative.

jan cleanse 005

Here are the nuts and bolts of the recipe

2 c organic flour

2 tbsp flax seed meal

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/3 c real maple syrup

1 c applesauce

2 tbsp coconut or other veggie oil

1/3 c nondairy milk such as almond, hemp, rice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Happy Baking!

What do you think?

