Dessert for Breakfast


I don’t know about you, but I am sick of force feeding my kids before school.  I feel like every morning I am frantic about them getting enough to eat before they head out to face the demands of school.  I find myself escalating from a stern “please finish your breakfast, you have to leave in 5 minutes” to ” EAT YOUR DANG FOOD OR YOUR GOING TO BE SORRY WHEN YOUR BLOOD SUGAR PLUMMETS IN AN HOUR AND YOU CAN’T THINK”…yes, those words come out of my mouth on a regular basis and ,very loudly.

After much strife, followed by plenty “Google-ing”, I have solved my problem. I have figured out a way to get my kids begging for breakfast as soon as their eyes flutter open in the morning.  I have convinced them that breakfast is a treat which means that I hold the power, I can use breakfast as a bribe.  Ahhh ha ha ha (imagine that sounding very evil). Dessert for breakfast is my trick.  Chocolate cupcakes, pumpkin gingerbread muffins and cookies.  And now you are thinking that I have fallen off the cliff of insanity and given up all of my beliefs and values. Well you would be wrong.

This all happened by accident.  I decided to take the family gluten-free so I began looking up Paleo breakfast foods because they are always wheat-free and really low-sugar (a requirement of a good breakfast, in my mind).  Not only did I stumble upon delicious mini quiches (I will add those in just for fun) which work for Parker but not so much for Finn, but I came across snack and breakfast recipes that look a lot like dessert.  I was skeptical.  It was not the tapioca or coconut flours that made me suspicious because, trust me, I was thrilled to find some recipes that might rid me of the Bob’s Red Mill overflow in my pantry, it was the lack of sugar.   These recipes had very little sugar and a lot of protein.  Was it possible that these actually tasted like desserts?  So, we tested them out on Sunday.  Three recipes and three successes.  So, this is how mornings look for us now…

Image

Kids get up, get dressed, get in the car.  I hand them each a cupcake and a cookies and a bowl of fruit. We talk and share riddles and eat on the way to school while I sip my chai tea and drive with a little grin thinking…”At last, I have out-smarted the little rascals”. So, now I pass on my grin to you.  I also thought I would share some pictures of what Sundays look like in my kitchen when I am getting ready for a week of “ready-to-eat breakfasts” and lunches just so you don’t have some illusion that all of this madness happens in some tidy little cooking space.  It is chaos, pure chaos.

ImageImage

A note about these recipes…The cupcake and muffin recipes can be made by throwing all of the ingredients into a high powered blender or your food processor.  I also used the blender for the wet ingredients in the cookie recipe and I pulsed the seeds and nuts so they were not too chunky.  Also, I recommend using real organic sugar for the cupcakes and not the suggested sugar. Lastly, if the ingredients in these recipes freak you out, take a deep breath. You can find them all at New Seasons, Whole foods or the natural section of Fred Meyer.  Trust me, it is worth it to get to know these ingredients, it will open up a whole new world of baking that keeps the blood sugar stable and tastes great (and makes it possible to eat dessert for breakfast).

OK, here are the links for breakfast that will keep your family smiling.  (PS.  These are great for grown-ups too.  I normally hate baked goods for breakfast as they always leave me feeling horrible afterward, but the chocolate muffins are a perfect small meal that keep me satisfied all morning).

Pumpkin Gingerbread Muffin (I ran out of pumpkin on the second batch and used frozen sweet potato. Also,I roasted my own pumpkin which tastes a bit better than canned and is as easy as throwing a whole pie pumpkin in your oven for 60 minutes on 350F)

http://www.thepaleomom.com/2012/07/recipe-pumpkin-gingerbread-muffins-nut.html

Chocolate Hazelnut Cupcakes (You can probably substitute the hazelnuts for sunflower and pumpkin seeds if you want nut-free)

http://www.thepaleomom.com/2013/09/chocolate-hazelnut-zucchini-cupcakes.html

Breakfast cookie (I added vegan dark chocolate chips and walnuts to these too)

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/06/18/breakfast-cookies/

Check out my website at http://www.fortheloveofzucchini.com

What do you think?

