Fried Plantains, who knew?


Often I get really excited about a recipe and I buy all of the ingredients and then some. Then I make the recipe and I am totally disappointed and I end up staring at a bunch of ingredients that have no purpose.  That is where Google and I begin to work together.  When I don’t know what to make or if I have a lot of food with no recipes to call their own, I Google the ingredients.  This time around I ended up with 6 plantains that I was supposed to use for muffins.  The muffins were less than pleasing so the extra plantains sat for 5 days until I found this recipe to use as a side dish.  This is SOOOO easy and makes a great appetizer or addition to a meal. Sadly, I cannot remember where I found this recipe online so I cannot give credit but the recipe was presented as an appetizer so there was a fried plantain slice with a chunk of pineapple, a chunk of avocado, a little diced red onion and minced cilantro on top with a toothpick holding it all together.  I used all those toppers as a salsa and loaded it on top.

Image

Fried Plantain

2 plantains – sliced 1/4 inch thick

1/4 c coconut oil

1/4 tsp salt

Salsa

1 pineapple – diced in 1/2 inch cubes (you can use canned if needed)

1 avocado – diced in 1/2 inch cubes

1 small red onion – finely diced

1/4 c cilantro minced

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 lime juice

Directions

Heat coconut oil on medium.  Add plantain slices to heated oil and fry for about 7 minutes until edges begin to brown.  Flip all slices over and fry on the opposite side for about 7 minutes until slightly crispy.

In the meantime, dice up your salsa ingredients and mix them all together and let sit for ten minutes.

That is it, easy peasy…serve it up!

 

What do you think?

