Sugar replacements to save your favorite recipes


I really feel like I have so much to blog about but no time today to do it.  I am knee deep in human nutrition and organic chemistry homework but I still have to figure out what I am going to feed my kiddos this week so thought I would share.  Today I had to stop and make a list for the week so I could stop thinking about what we were all going to eat (it really distracts me).  While making my Master List ( I will copy and paste this below in case anyone needs some ideas for the week…sorry I don’t have time to link all of the recipes today)  I gave into the fact that the kids really want those yummy fall foods like zucchini and pumpkin breads.  However, I like to make those things as nutritious as possible so I went Google-searching for a conversion of white sugar to dates or maple syrup.  Anyway, I came across this great site that I wanted to share with you all.  This site has some awesome options for substituting white sugar in your favorite recipes.  The main reason to do this is to get nutrients with your sweetener.  White sugar is so refined that you are basically getting a 50/50 mix of glucose and fructose …period.  Instead you could be absorbing the carbohydrate molecules along with other cofactors such as magnesium from molasses or iron from dates.  These are really important issues when looking at the crisis that our country faces with malnutrition. With the obesity rate in children sky rocketing , we often forget that weight does not equal nutrition and hunger is a very small factor in malnutrition in the US.  We eat so much calorie rich and nutrient poor food that estimates now suggest that people with Type 2 diabetes will soar from  the current 11 million in the US to 29 million in 2050…those are our children in their adult life.  Malnutrition is failing to absorb (take up into the circulatory system) the necessary nutrients that are vital for health and wellness.  So, you can eat as many calories as you want but it does not mean you are truly nourished.  This is why it is vital to maximize your nutrition by subbing out things that are nutritionally barren (white sugar/white flour etc.) and replace with foods that are nutrient dense.  I have found that wellness is less about the type foods that you eat and more about the quality of the ingredients that go into them.  Cheers to meaningful sugars!!!  Off to make some zucchini bread…

P.S. Here is my master food list for the week.  I try to do this every week so I buy the appropriate groceries and don’t have to think about what is for dinner.  Most of these recipes are at http://www.pepperclip.com.  My user name is megan and password is eloise.  If you don’t see a recipe on pepperclip that you want, shoot a comment to me and I will try to post it.  I also want to make a note that some of these foods are going to sound wacky to you coming from me such as hot dogs and pizza pockets (which I make from scratch) for lunch. As I mentioned above, it is about the quality.  I have no problem feeding my kids organic hot dogs from grass-fed cows and bacon from a pig that was pastured raised at a local farm.  It is a totally different food than an Oscar Meyer wiener and Hormel bacon. That being said…

Master Food List

Breakfast

Eggs and Bacon

French toast

Almond pancakes

Pumpkin muffins

Zucchini Bread

Frittata

Banana bread with grass fed butter

School Lunches

Tuna sandwich/ peppers/apples

Hot dogs/ carrots/ banana

Ham sandwich/ peppers/pears

Beans and “rice” with cucumbers and berries

Taco muffins/ peas and apples

Raviolis  / peppers and banana

Pizza pockets / carrots and oranges

Veggie Soup / zucchini muffin

Snacks

Candied nuts with fruit

Apple cinnamon muffins

Trail mix with fruit

Kale chips

Energy balls

Dinner

Salmon with green salad and brown sugar squash

Asian meatballs on cabbage or zucchini noodles with cabbage salad

Zucchini noodles with chicken sausage marinara with beet salad

Sweet potato enchiladas with beans and broccoli

Polenta lasagna with bacon collard greens

Quiche with sweet potato wedges

Roast Chicken and root veggies

Nacho night!!! Nachos with taco seasoned broccoli and sweet potato topped with cheese, salsa and guacamole

What do you think?

